Horton Research Grants

In 1982, the Hydrology Section of AGU gained access to a portion of the income of the Robert E. Horton Fund for Hydrologic Research. This permitted the initiation of the Horton Research Grant, which was first awarded in 1983. In recent years, two awards have been made each year. The grants are in support of research projects in hydrology and water resources by Ph.D. candidates in institutions of higher education.

  • 2017 Michael O’Connor, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2017 James Knighton, Cornell University
  • 2017 Ravindra Dwivedi, University of Arizona
  • 2016 Noah Jemison, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2016 Hadley McIntosh, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
  • 2016 Katalyn Voss, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • 2015 Laura Stevens, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2015 Emily Voytek, Colorado School of Mines
  • 2015 Adam Wlostowski, University of Colorado & The Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research
  • 2014 Katherine Lininger, Colorado State University
  • 2014 Chris Gabrielli, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
  • 2014 Kevin Befus, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2013 Flavia Tauro, Polytechnic Institute of New York University, Sapienza University of Rome
  • 2013 Fabian Nippgen, Montana State University, Duke University
  • 2013 Scott Jasechko, University of New Mexico
  • 2012 Jesus Gomez, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
  • 2012 Claire Lukens, University of Wyoming
  • 2012 Yoshihide Wada, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  • 2011 Vamsi Ganti, University of Minnesota
  • 2011 Nicholas Kinar, University of Saskatchewan
  • 2010 Ciaran Harmon, University of Illinois
  • 2010 Maya Bhattia, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • 2009 Audrey Sawyer, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2009 V. Cody Hale, Oregon State University
  • 2008 Cédric David, University of Texas, Austin
  • 2008 Beth Weinman, Vanderbilt University
  • 2007 Holly R. Barnard, Oregon State University
  • 2007 Christian Braudrick, University of California, Berkeley
  • 2007 Diego A. Riveros-Iregui, Montana State University
  • 2006 Xingyuan Chen, University of California, Berkeley
  • 2006 Carl J. Legleiter, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • 2005 Meinhard Bayani R. Cardenas, New Mexico Tech
  • 2005 Joseph M. Wheaton, University of Southampton, UK
  • 2004 Stephen Sebestyen, State University of New York College of Environmental Science & Forestry
  • 2003 Elowyn Yager, University of California at Berkeley
  • 2003 Shakeel Hasan, Wageningen University, The Netherlands
  • 2003 Reuben Heine, Southern Illinois University
  • 2002 David Francis Boutt, New Mexico Tech
  • 2002 Ruben Ijpelaar, Wageningen University, The Netherlands
  • 2002 Brett L. Valle, University of California-Davis
  • 2001 Brian McGlynn, Oregon State University, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry at Syracuse
  • 2001 Mira Stone Olson, University of Virginia
  • 2001 Thomas Pagano, University of Arizona
  • 2000 Weston Ridgway Dripps, University of Wisconsin at Madison
  • 2000 Martin Doyle, Purdue University
  • 1999 S. Jean Birks, University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • 1999 Tracey C. Flowers, University of Kentucky
  • 1999 Daniel Malmon, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • 1998 Chris G. Campbell, University of California-Berkeley
  • 1998 Peter Erik Dijk, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • 1998 John M. Sigda, New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology
  • 1997 Martin F. Helmke, Iowa State University
  • 1997 Walter A. Illman, University of Arizona
  • 1996 Curt Reynolds, University of Arizona
  • 1996 Eric E. Small, University of California
  • 1995 Julie K. Sueker, University of Colorado
  • 1995 Alan D. Ziegler, University of Hawaii
  • 1994 Julia Boike, Alfred-Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research
  • 1994 David Lapen, Queen’s University
  • 1993 Christine Brick, University of Montana
  • 1993 Robert Harrington, University of Arizona
  • 1992 Susan Colarullo, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
  • 1992 Dan Walker, University of British Columbia
  • 1991 Timothy R. Green, Stanford University
  • 1991 Jeffrey Raffensperger, Johns Hopkins University
  • 1990 Barbara Gruver, Indiana University
  • 1990 Deborah Loewenherz, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1989 James W. Kirchner, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1989 Jene D. Hendrickson, University of Arizona
  • 1988 Thomas C. Harmon, Stanford University
  • 1987 Jeffrey John McDonnell, University of Canterbury, NZ
  • 1986 David C. Goodrich, University of Arizona
  • 1985 Laura Toran, University of Wisconsin
  • 1984 Javier Samper, University of Arizona
  • 1983 Jane L. Stockman, Stanford University

Nomination eligibility criteria can be found by clicking HERE. Nominations for the Horton Research Grant are accepted and can be submitted by clicking HERE. Should you have any questions, please contact the AGU Honors Team.


Water Resources Research

Conventional bias correction is usually applied on a grid-by-grid basis, meaning that the ...

Decision Making Under Uncertainty (DMUU) approaches have been less utilised in developing ...

Flow in fractured porous media is crucial for production of oil/gas reservoirs and exploit ...