• Clouds over the Blue Ridge
  • Goshen Pass, Virginia
  • Buffalo Creek in Buffalo Forge, Virginia

Welcome to AGU’s Hydrology Section

The Hydrology Section is one of eleven in the American Geophysical Union. Its members are concerned with the cycling of continental water (solid, liquid and vapor) at all scales, and with physical, chemical and biological processes driven by that cycling. Of AGU's almost 60,000 members, about 7000 list their primary affiliation with the hydrology section. Read More >

News and Announcements

Water Resources Research

Merging radar and rain gauge rainfall data is a technique used to improve the quality of s ...

Thermal regimes are fundamental determinants of aquatic ecosystems, which makes descriptio ...

In this study, we use numerical experiments with a simple water balance model to understan ...


  • WaterWired
  • Water Underground

More jobs and resources! Here is a link to the weekly water news [...]

The weekly water news summary is back: 7 - 13 October 2017 Here a [...]

Note: I have not the read the legal documents. My knowledge of th [...]

Robert Costanza just sent me a paper that chronicles Twenty Years [...]

Could groundwater be a previously unrecognised source or sink of [...]

Video: How my water research made the news... The post Video: Why [...]

We recently mapped groundwater wells across the 17 western states [...]

In recent years the human dimension of hydrology has become incre [...]